The stunning stained glass windows of Rug Chapel in North Wales.
Rug Chapel is a rare example of a little altered private 17th century chapel. It was founded in 1637 by Colonel William Salisbury [1580-1660]. He collaborated with Bishop William Morgan, who was the first person to translate the Bible into Welsh.
Built in a lovely woodland setting, the private chapel appears, externally, to be very plain and simple. It was constructed in stone, with entry through a west heavy oak door.
But be prepared for a big surprise when you enter the interior of the chapel. To the left is a wooden staircase leading to a gallery.
The visitor has a stunning vista of the ornate and richly decorated chapel in glorious technicolour. The spectacular roof is ornately decorated throughout with intertwining rose motifs, panelled and coloured from end to end, decked with cut-out angels, and lined with a frieze of flowers and beasts.
Carved animals bedeck the ends of the pews.
The nave is separated from the chancel with a low rood screen.
A rare 17th century wall painting with recumbent skeleton, skull and hourglass reminds viewers (in Welsh verse) that time flies by and life is short, a sobering reminder of mortality.
Last admission 30 minutes before closing
Family – £11.60*
Member – Am ddim/Free
Disabled and companion – Am ddim/Free
Student and children under 16 – £2.40
Senior Citizen – £3.20